A personal injury can affect work life, social life, personal finances for a long time after the incident. However, Maryland statutes of limitations require all personal injury claims to be filed in a certain amount of time. Here’s a brief guide to the Maryland statutes of limitations and how it can affect your personal injury claim:
Maryland Statutes of Limitations
If you intend to file a personal injury claim in the state of Maryland, you must do so within 3 years of the date of the accident. However, medical malpractice claims may be filed within 5 years, while intentional tort claims must be filed within 12 months. Once the allotted period of time has passed, you no longer have the right to file a claim.
If the statute of limitations for your personal injury has already expired, don’t despair. Maryland observes the “discovery rule,” which means that the statute of limitations doesn’t actually begin until the plaintiff discovers the injury. The statute of limitations is also extended if the negligent party commits fraud by concealing knowledge related to the incident.
What You Should Do
Even if you have years to file a personal injury claim, it’s recommended that you hire a personal injury lawyer and begin the process as quickly as possible. The longer you wait, the foggier your memory of the incident becomes, and the weaker your case becomes. Before you know it, the statute of limitations may expire, leaving you without a chance to get the compensation you need to recover.
If you’re looking for a skilled personal injury lawyer in Maryland, contact the law office of Sussman & Simcox. Attorneys Karen Sussman and Howard Simcox each have over 20 years of experience helping victims of negligence receive the compensation they deserve. Call our office at (301) 840-0404.